IT’S PUBLICATION DAY FOR BOOK TWO IN VICTORIA CORNWALL’S CORNISH TALES – THE CAPTAIN’S DAUGHTER

The Captain’s Daughter
Victoria Cornwall

TCD_RGB_150

A gripping historical novel set in Cornwall.
Perfect for fans of Winston Graham’s Poldark, Susan Howatch & Philippa Gregory novels.

Book 2 – Cornish Tales

 

Beware the strength of a quiet woman.

After a family tragedy, Janey Carhart was forced from her comfortable middle-class life as a captain’s daughter into domestic servitude. Determined to make something of herself, Janey eventually finds work as a lady’s maid at the imposing Bosvenna Manor on the edge of Bodmin Moor, but is soon caught between the two worlds of upstairs and downstairs, and accepted by neither, as she cares for her blind mistress.
Desperately lonely, Janey catches the attention of two men – James Brockenshaw and Daniel Kellow. James is heir to the Bosvenna estate, a man whose eloquent letters to his mother warm Janey’s heart and whose attentions to her when he returns home set her pulse racing. Daniel Kellow is a neighbouring farmer with a dark past and a brooding nature, yet with a magnetism that disturbs Janey. Two men. Who should she choose? Or will fate decide.

PRICE: £2.99
CATEGORY: Historical/Women’s Fiction/Romance/Saga

BOOK LINKS

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Captains-Daughter-Choc-Cornish-Tales-ebook/dp/B075JNYRGG/r

https://geo.itunes.apple.com/gb/book/the-captains-daughter-choc-lit/id1271370193?mt=11&at=11lNBs

https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/the-captain-s-daughter-13

CHOC

Choc Lit:
info@choc-lit.com
+44 (0) 1276 27492

 

MY REVIEW

For me the essence of a good book is one which you can completely immerse yourself in and forget about everything else.  And Victoria Cornwall’s second novel The Captain’s Daughter is just that.

Daughter of a sea captain, Janey Carhart has had a difficult upbringing.  Alone at thirteen after the death of her family she found herself with no alternative but to go into service. Now at twenty she is a newly employed maid to Lady Brockenshaw of Bosvenna Manor.  It is a role she has always wanted, but brings with it alienation and jealousy from some members of the staff there.  Although socially out of her reach, Janey is attracted to James, the Brockenshaw’s only son.  He’s handsome, educated and charming – the perfect gentleman.  Daniel Kellow, a local farmer, has taken an interest in Janey. Not only does he unsettle her with his familiarity, she is aware of the rumours that surround him. The locals believe he may have been involved in the accident years ago that killed his employer Zachariah Trebilock – one which gained him ownership of the farm.  And that’s it…no more spoilers other than to say it’s a plot, full of twists, turns and surprises.

I love historical romantic fiction and have to confess I was hooked from page one.  It was difficult to put down and I really resented having to stop when other ‘must do’ things intruded. Janey is a great heroine; competent, determined and sensible except, it appears, where affairs of the heart are concerned.  Daniel is a gorgeous hero – but then I’ve never been able to resist handsome dark eyed men – and blond charismatic James?…well you’ll just have to read the book to find out how  both these men influence Janey’s future.  A very worthy five star read….

I would like to thank Choc Lit for an ARC copy of this book in return for an honest review…

ABOUT VICTORIA CORNWALL

Victoria CornwallVictoria Cornwall can trace her Cornish roots as far back as the 18th century. This background and heritage has given her an understanding and knowledge of Cornish rural life, which is the inspiration for her writing.
Following a fulfilling twenty-five year career as a nurse, a change in profession finally allowed her time to write in her favourite genre – historical romance.

She is married with two grown up children. The Captain’s Daughter is the second novel in her Cornish Tales series.

Catch up with Victoria on Social Media:

https://twitter.com/VickieCornwall

http://http//victoriacornwall.com/

https://www.facebook.com/victoria.cornwall.75

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16069968.Victoria_Cornwall

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s